GPU Day 2017 - The Future of Many-Core Computing in Science

Meeting room (Building 18)

Meeting room

Building 18

29-33, Konkoly-Thege Miklos u, 1121 - Budapest, Hungary


The 7th in the conference series organized by the Wigner Research Centre for Physics of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences is dedicated to the field of many-core computing in scientific and industrial applications.

This years' event is sponsored by Lombiq Ltd.

For the earlier events see: 2016, 2015, 2014


The full Schedule is now available on


Registration fee is 150 000 HUF (cc. 480 EUR, including VAT)
Limited number of support available to waive the participation fee, inquire below.


  • Current status and near-future of many-core hardware and software
  • Many-core computing in physics and other fields of science
  • Medical applications of parallel technologies
  • Machine Learning, neural networks, feature recognition
  • Image processing, computer vision and reconstruction
  • Industrial applications of many-core computing
  • Many-core computing in education
  • Mobile and embedded parallel computing in science
  • Emerging accelerator platforms
  • Development technologies (languages, compilers, tools)



Accelerating Eigen Tensor libraries using SYCL
Mehdi Goli, Codeplay Software Ltd.

Accelerating parallel computing by closely linkage of CPU and FPGA
Miroslaw Walukiewicz, Intel

FPGA based acceleration scientific workloads - Why? How?
Suleyman Demirsoy, Intel

The Collaboration Spotting Graph Visualization tool
Xavier Eric Ouvrard, CERN

Computations for Collaboration Spotting on Neural Science Datasets
Richárd Forster, CERN

Computational challenges of gravitational-wave searches
Michał Bejger, Nicolaus Copernicus Astronomical Center, Warsaw

FPGAs as manycore scientific coprocessors in high-level programming environments – Hastlayer
Zoltán Lehóczky, Lombiq Ltd.

GPU assisted light field capture and processing
Attila Barsi, Holografika Ltd.

Contributed talks:


A highly parallelizable Quantum Monte Carlo approach to the nonequilibrium steady state of open quantum systems
Alexandra Nagy (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne)

Highly Parallel GPU-based Particle-in-Cell/MCC Plasma Simulation
Zoltán Juhász (University of Pannonia)

GPU accelerated investigation of a dual-frequency driven nonlinear oscillator
Ferenc Hegedűs (Budapest University of Technology and Economics)

Brain network model dynamical simulations
Vince Varga (Budapest University of Technology and Economics)

In silico studies of the mutant protein causing cystic fibrosis
Tamás Hegedűs (Molecular Biophysics Research Group of HAS, Semmelweis University)

Searching for high energy electromagnetic transients with ADWO
Zsolt Bagoly (Eötvös Loránd University)

Light curve modelling of eclipsing binaries
Gábor Marschalkó (Baja Observatory of University of Szeged)

Cosmological zoom-in simulations with stereographic projection
Gábor Rácz (Eötvös Loránd University)

LambdaGen - A GPU code generator powered by recursion schemes
András Leitereg (Eötvös Loránd University)

Pitfalls of instinct driven asynchronous programming in C#
Szilveszter Harangozó (EPAM Systems – Hungary)

Report on running the biggest GPU cluster in Hungary
Zoltán Kiss (National Information Infrastructure Development Program)

HIJING++ a HIC Monte Carlo for the Future (Parallel) Generations
Gergely Gábor Barnaföldi (Wigner RCP)






  • Extended abstract submission: 19 May 2017
  • Decision on accepted presentations: 21 May 2017
  • Registration deadline: 11 June 2017

Please send your abstracts and questions to:

{berenyi} . {daniel} {at} {wigner} . {mta} . {hu}

Dániel BERÉNYI (Wigner RCP)
Máté Ferenc NAGY-EGRI (Wigner RCP)
Gábor Cseh (Wigner RCP)
Gergely Gábor BARNAFÖLDI (Wigner RCP)

  • Agnes Fülöp
  • Agnes Vasarhelyi
  • Alex Olar
  • Alexandra Nagy
  • András Attila Sulyok
  • András Csige
  • András Leitereg
  • Anna Siroki
  • Aron Cserkaszky
  • Attila Barsi
  • Attila Iván
  • Attila Markus
  • Balazs Banto
  • Balázs Bagó
  • Balázs Kondákor
  • Balázs Majoros
  • Benedek Farkas
  • Borkó Máté
  • Denes Molnar
  • Dániel Bódis
  • Dávid Komorowicz
  • Emil Novak
  • Ferenc Hegedűs
  • Gabor Cseh
  • Gabor Felföldi
  • Gabor Puhr
  • George Paszti
  • Gergely Gábor Barnaföldi
  • Gergely Máthé
  • Gergő Almásy
  • Gábor Demeter
  • Gábor Domonkos
  • Gábor Dániel Balogh
  • Gábor Lehel
  • Gábor Marschalkó
  • Gábor Nagy
  • Gábor Rácz
  • Gáspár Balogh
  • Géza Ódor
  • Istvan Reguly
  • István Borsos
  • István Horváth
  • István Magashegyi
  • István Nádaslaki
  • Ivan Herczeg
  • Janos Orban
  • Jozsef Marinka-Toth
  • János Nuspl
  • János Sztakovics
  • Kiss Zoltán
  • Kristóf Muhi
  • Lajos Berenyi
  • Laszlo Kovacs
  • Laszlo Somlai
  • Lenard Szantho
  • Marietta M. Homor
  • Martin Albrecht
  • Marton Vargyas
  • Matyas Vasuth
  • Mehdi Goli
  • Melinda Hidasz
  • Michał Bejger
  • Miroslaw Walukiewicz
  • Ottó Sulija
  • Patrik Reizinger
  • Paweł Ciecieląg
  • Péter Fehér
  • Péter Pósfay
  • Richard Forster
  • Richárd Fiáth
  • Rod Burns
  • Róbert Csengeri
  • Skorka Antal
  • suleyman demirsoy
  • Szabolcs Nyisztor
  • Szilveszter Harangozó
  • Szilárd Sajti
  • Tamas Hegedus
  • Tamas Maray
  • tamas puski
  • Tamás Haidekker Galambos
  • Tamás Hajdu
  • Tamás Orosz
  • Tamás Sándor Soós
  • Tuan Mate Nguyen
  • Viktor Jeges
  • Viktor Szaszkó-Bogár
  • Vince Varga
  • Xavier OUVRARD
  • Zoltan Donko
  • Zoltan Juhasz
  • Zoltán Bankó
  • Zoltán Hajnal
  • Zoltán Lehóczky
  • Zoltán Szabó
  • Zoltán Zimborás
  • Zsolt Bagoly
  • Ákos Biró
  • Ákos Kovács
  • Álmos Szabó
  • Árpád Goretity
  • Árpád Molnár